Photo of Eric Melley conducting Symphonic Winds in Spring 2019
Site Home> Faculty

Meet Our Faculty

Whether you’re a singer-in-training, an aspiring player, or you’re interested in the history of music, our esteemed faculty members have you covered.

We’re specialists in music education, choral music, jazz studies, vocal performance, and instrumental training — among many other areas of interest. Please explore the links to the left to learn more about us.

Faculty Offices are located on the ground level of the Smith Center for the Arts

Complete Faculty Listing

Catherine Gordon, Ph.D. – Chair
Music History/Harpsichord
865-1898 – G05
cgordon@providence.edu

Yoon Chung, M.M.
Adjunct Faculty
Piano Class/Music Theory/Piano
ychung@providence.edu

Anthony Costa M.M.
Adjunct Fall ’22 Brass Methods
acosta@providence.edu
 

Elizabeth Heath, M.M.
Coordinator, Vocal Studies/Opera Workshop/Voice
401.865.1812 G11
eheath1@providence.edu

Jeffrey Hoyer, B.A. 
Director of Pep Band
Trombone
jhoyer@providence.edu

Sang Woo Kang, D.M.A.
Director of Orchestra
Piano Class – Basic Concepts-Piano
401.865.2564 (G17)
skang1@providence.edu

Michael C. Kregler, M.M. ~ michaelckregler.com
Accompanist/Piano Class/Piano/Composition
401.865.1870 (G13)
mkregler@providence.edu

Kathryn (Kate) Longo
Interim Choral Director Fall 2022
klongo1@providence.edu

William Longo, D.M.A ~http://williamlongomusic.com
Director of Music Technology and Production
Composition/Jazz Studies/Music Theory
401.865.1371 (G06)
wlongo1@providence.edu

Eric Melley, D.M.A.
Director of Instrumental Activities
Symphonic Winds,/Jazz Band/Trumpet
401.865.2607 (G15)
emelley@providence.edu

Krishan Oberoi, D.M.A.
Director of Choral Activities
(G09)
koberoi@providence.edu

David Riley, M.M.,
Adjunct Faculty
Theory/Guitar
(G16)
driley3@providence.edu

JoAnn Thomas,  M.M.
Visiting Full Time Professor
401.865-1954 G07
jthoma13@providence.edu

Gabrielle Toscano, M.Mus.
Orchestra, String Pedagogy and Teaching Artist
gtoscano@providence.edu

Applied Faculty

Patricia Wurst Cichy, Ph.D., oboe
pcichy@providence.edu

Randy Cloutier, B.A., percussion
randycloutier@cox.net

Neal Ferreira, M.Mus., vocal
nealferreira@gmail.com

Anne Gasper, M.M., flute
afgasper@cox.net

Elizabeth Gates, M.M., french horn
edeangates@verizon.net

Catherine Gordon, Ph.D., harpsichord
cgordon@providence.edu

Tom Gregory, M.A., tuba

Laura Gully,  B.A.,violin
lgulley1@gmail.com

Elizabeth Heath, M.M., voice
eheath1@providence.edu

Rachel Hanauer, M.M, voice
rlhanauer@gmail.com

Jeffrey Hoyer, B.A., trombone
jhoyer@providence.edu
781.223.6691

Sang Woo Kang, D.M.A., piano
skang1@providence.edu

Christopher Kelton, D.M., saxophone/clarinet
ckelton@providence.edu

Michael Kregler, M.M., jazz piano/composition
michaelckregler@gmail.com

William Longo, D.M.A, trumpet/composition
wlongo1@providence.edu

David Martinez, M.A., organ
dmartinez@lasalle-academy.org

Eric Melley, D.M.A,  trumpet
emelley@providence.edu

William Miele, M.A., electric bass
wmiele@cox.net

Vincent Pagano, drums
vinnyp@cox.net

David Riley, M.M., guitar
driley3@providence.edu

Bryan Rizzuto, electric bass
bryanrizzuto@gmail.com

Devon Russo, M.M.,voice
baritonedevon@gmail.com

Andrienne Taylor, M.M. cello
AdrienneLeilaTaylor@gmail.com